Monday, October 30, 2017

List of Cebuano's Boxing World Champion

Most of our boxing world champion are from the Cebu City Philippines. Cebu right now is the home of the Filipino boxers and Filipino world champions.

Check out the Filipino boxing world champions from Cebu.

Frank Cedeno 43W(23KO)-10L - Born in Talisay City, Cebu, Philippines. He won the WBC World Flyweight Title in 1983 at the Wembley Arena, Wembley against Charlie Magri via 6th round KO.

Eric Chavez 40W(25KO)-16L - Born in Talisay City, Cebu, Philippines. He is the first Filipino Minimumweight world champion. He won his belt against Nico Thomas of Indonesia at Lokasari Hall, Jakarta via 5th round KO in 1989.

Flash Elorde 89W(33KO)-27L-2D - Bogo, Cebu, Philippines. He is the first Filipno who won WBA and WBC World Title belts. He also also one of the longest reining Filipino champion (7 years 3 months). He won his first world title belt in 1963 against Johnny Bizzarro of USA via unanimous decision.

Rodel Mayol 31W(22KO)-6L-2D - born in Mandaue City, Cebu, Philippines. Mayol won his WBC World Light Flyweight Title belt against Edgar Sosa of Mexico via 2nd round KO in Mexico in 2009.

Rolando Pascua 45W(17KO)-25L - Born in Cebu City, Cebu, Philippines. A southpaw fighter and became a world champion in 1990 when he defeated Humberto Gonzalez of Mexico via 6th round KO. That is his first fight in the USA against the formerly undefeated fighter. He shocks the world in that fight.

Malcolm Tunacao 35W(30KO)-3L-3D - Born in Mandaue City, Cebu, Philippines aka "Eagle Eye". With just 11 professional fights Malcolm Tunacao won WBC World Flyweight Title in Thailand against Medgoen Singsurat of who is undefeated at that time. Malcolm shocks all Thai's and upset the fight via 7th round TKO.

Bernabe Villacampo 39W(26KO)-21L-5D - Born in Toledo City, Cebu, Philippines. He scored a unanimous decision over Hiroyuki Ebihara in Prefectural Gymnasium, Osaka Japan in 1969 to win the WBA World Flyweight Title. After that Hiroyuki Ebihara never returned in boxing.